DAY 1 OF 100 DAYS JUICE FAST

*UPDATE 2017- I feel the start of another juice fast coming soon. I am still deciding on start date and length of the fast. More to come….

Today is day one of a 100 days of juice.  Yes you read right, juice.  Call it a juice feast, juice fast, juicing, liquid diet… whatever you call it.  I will be juicing and drinking only juice from vegetables and fruits from my juicer for the next 100 days.  Why?  Well I juiced before and lost approximately 70 pounds.  Last summer I watched a video that transformed my life.  Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead by Joe Cross.The movie had practical knowledge and it walked us through some misconceptions about nutrition. Joe Cross gathered the knowledge from several great doctors and  nutritionists.  One of them I enjoy reading Dr. Joel Fuhrman.

In June 2012 , I weighed in at 310 pounds.  Doesn’t sound too crazy until you realize that I am a 5’8″ tall man.  OK, I said it I am 5’8″.  Over the course of 60 days I lost 60 pounds (a pound a day).  It was hard to wrap my head around what I was doing but after a few days and a good routine the pounds started to come off. My heart rate improved, my blood pressure normalized and I got more energy.    No, I am not selling anything.  I want to share this experience with all of you.  I recommend that you consult with a doctor before attempting any dietary or exercise regimes.  All information on this blog is my personal experience and may or may not relate to other people.

I think we are all addicted.  I know I am.  First step is to realize that we are addicted, right.  I am addicted to sweeteners,  processed food, junk food  and caffeine.  The typical American diet.  I love food.  I think we all do.  I have a double dose because I am an emotional eater.  So not only am I addicted but double down when I am sad, happy, worried…etc.

I started today with Liquid Sunshine recipe borrowed from my favorite Juice spot , Juice It Bellingham, WA.  It was so good my wife had some and my 1 1/2 year old daughter had some too.

You won’t see 1/2 naked pictures of a obese middle aged man today. I want this to be about the experience.  April 22, 2013…here I come

Just some stats.

44 years old

240 pounds

obese

100 day juice fast

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Posts, Random Post

2 responses to “DAY 1 OF 100 DAYS JUICE FAST

  1. Mary Elsener

    Oct 4, 2016
    I only saw your website just now. How did your 100-day juicing session go at the start of 2013? I hope your efforts met with lasting success.

    I’m a 63 year old woman, just finishing my second 80-day jucing session since Jan of 2014. I’m 5’7″, and when I began juicing in 2014. Weighed 240′ also. I’m now 146. I did my juicing in two sessions with a long break between by design. From Jan 2014 to Oct 2916, I kept the weight off that I lost initially and learned a lot, both about juicing and about eating. I’ve been a totally strict ethical vegan for almost 30 years and was in the process of moving into totally whole foods/plant-based eating. So although I’m still a food addict, and there is more vegan processed food out there than ever before, for the first time in my life, I don’t have to fret that I’ll gain back the weight that I lost. Because I started my education with Joe Cross, but I moved on, to Colin Campbell and Rip Esselten (sp?). And this is what it takes. Period.

    Being female, I lost weight at a slower rate than a man would under the same regimen. And the urban legend may be true, that the older you get, the slower your weight loss happens under any regimen. Particularly when you’re not exercising AT ALL. But if my money weren’t running out, and the seasonal prices of organic cucumbers and celery beginning to climb for the winter, I could probably do 100 days this session.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Mary. I have been away from my blog and juicing for some time. I am sorry I did not reply sooner. My juice fast ended amazingly well. I lost so much weight and felt wonderful. I wish I could say I dropped the weight and kept it off. I have not. I too, am a food addict. I agree that the older you get , the slower the weight loss happens. Also, let’s be honest that with age our patience also wears thin( no pun intended). Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with health and juicing. Again, my apologies for not getting back to you sooner. Cheers and happy juicing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

